Permit Process Information
All the forms and applications needed for the Building Services Division are found at the Building Applications and Forms. Each permit application includes pertinent information about the permitting requirements for that type of permit. Be sure to check out our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) page or contact the Building Division directly for questions.
Permit Review Processing Timeframe
Target Review times for complete submittals:
|Initial Plan Review
If you own and occupy a one or two-family house you may be eligible to act as your own contractor per State Statute (489.103(7). As an owner-builder though, if you do not complete all of the work yourself, you must supervise the work, and hire licensed trade subcontractors (electrician, plumbing, a/c, and roof) in accordance with state law. Owners acting as their own contractor are required to personally appear for all permitting, provide proof that the property is properly insured and be present for all inspections. All the requirements are found on the Owner Builder Affidavit.
Notice of Commencement
A Notice of Commencement must be recorded at the Broward County Governmental Center, County Record Division for any work valued over $2,500.00 ($7,500.00 for mechanical permits). See next item, regarding the Florida Lien Law.
Florida Lien Law
According to Florida law, those who work on your property or provide materials, and are not paid-in-full, have a right to enforce their claim for payment against your property. This claim is known as a construction lien. If your contractor fails to pay subcontractors or material suppliers, the people who are owed money may look to your property for payment, even if you have paid your contractor in full. This means that if a lien is filed against your property, your property could be sold against your will to pay for labor, materials, or other services that your contractor may have failed to pay. This document provides information regarding Florida Statute 713, Part 1, as it pertains to home construction and remodeling, and provides tips on how you can avoid construction liens on your property. For more information see the Florida Lien Law Pamphlet.