Historic Preservation Board (HPAB)

 (5 Members*)

Duties & Responsibilities:

The Board shall recommend designation, regulation, and administration of aesthetic, archaeological, architectural, cultural, historical, and paleontological resources within the City. Make recommendations to the City Commission for adoption or amendment to rules and procedures reasonably necessary and appropriate for the proper administration and enforcement of the provisions of this section. Recommend designation of individual sites, and districts, archaeological and paleontological zones to the City Commission, issuance or denial of special certificates of appropriateness and certificates to dig to the City Commission. Establish, maintain, and update guidelines for preservation and criteria for the issuance by staff of regular certificates of appropriateness. Approve historic markers and provide other recognition for individual sites, districts, and zones. Promote the awareness of historic preservation and its community benefits. Establish, review and update the City’s historic survey. Identify sources of historic records pertaining to the City. Serve as central collection point for donation of historic documents pertaining to the City. Archive, catalogue, and maintain all historic documents of the City. 

*The Board shall consist of five (5) members appointed by the City Commission. The City Commission should attempt to appoint persons with education, experience, training, and interest in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art, history,  law, urban planning, natural history, and real estate or other individuals with related backgrounds or from the business, financial, and other segments of the community who, by virtue of their profession, business, or other ties to the city have demonstrated a concern and interest in historic preservation within the city. 

Fran Markowitz 12/14/2022 - 12/14/2024  Mayor Joy F. Cooper
 Commissioner Mike Butler 
Leslie Bell12/14/2022 - 12/14/2024
 Commissioner Joy D. Adams
VACANT  Commissioner Michele Lazarow
Gloria Stoner  12/14/2022 - 12/14/2024  Vice Mayor Anabelle Lima-Taub

DATE:4th Monday of each Month
6:30 PM
Curci House

To view Agendas and Minutes, please click here.